The Fun of it All

So I’ve been out of commission for a while. I’ve had bursitis for years, but this year I decided to shovel sand, and I busted my rotator cuff and tore some stuff. FUN TIMES YOU GUYS.

So I have to start physical therapy (he can pop both shoulders out with very little effort but I could have told him that) and it makes knitting impossible and crochet mostly impossible.

What is this queen to do.

Finally learn to embroider, that’s what!

So I did. I have a few projects going, and that thrills me. I enjoy it and I don’t have to use my left arm much so I can do it without hurting myself.

I also see things and think “I want to embroider that… Right now!” Now I have so many ideas and so many things to do.

One thing is everyone has been trying to teach me to make French knots for 25 years. Twenty. Five. Years. This has put me off from the embroidery train for a while. But I did it. I did it so I kept doing it and now I’m a French knot machine.

FRENCH KNOT MACHINE!

I want to do a lot of small, fun projects to give to my friends because of reasons.

The Projects:

The Cat

IMG_5258I was browsing Facebook like I do at 3 am, and came across this tattoo. Not even kidding, I had to make this. This was my idea of a first project. Now that I have a million needles, I can get down and dirty with making more flowers and different colors at the same time. (Now the haul post is for another day! OK. Later today.)

I love this damn cat and I just want her to be the way I want her. My mom is on me to finish projects, and I do really want to finish her, but I want her to be a good piece of work.

Now, the cat tattoo is on the bottom. If this is your tattoo, please let me know so I can credit properly

So these are detail shots and the tattoo. I really want to credit the owner of the tattoo.

The Totoro Bunny Thing

IMG_5260I wanted to practice more than just roses and French knots, so I thought:

“Let’s make something that is small and cute but surround it in French knots anyway.”

I’m not all that happy with it, but it’s been fun anyway. I’m probably going to scrap it. That’s sad to me. Like, really sad, but you can really see all the glaring errors. You could really see I had NO IDEA WHAT I WAS DOING. Awful. Cute. But awful.

HERRINGBONE STITCH ON POINT.

 

The Tshirt Bag

I don’t have a picture of it because it’s not here. (I’m house sitting) It’s really nothing to write home about anyway. But it could be.

My mom comes in and goes:

“I’m going to make something RIGHT NOW!”

Obviously this mentality runs in the family. So she runs in, grabs two t shirts, and goes:

“I MADE A BAG! EMBROIDER IT!”

So I’m doing a blanket stitch around the edges and now it’s gone terribly wrong. I’d like to make way more of these, but sewn and not tied. I eventually managed to switch the blanket stitch and it looks WOOOO way better. But it’s still awful. It’s going to be fun to embroider stuff on it.

Also some for Barbie because she needs cute bags too.

Thoughts and Things:

Now that I have a little experience under my belt I  see so much embroidery in so many things. I have so many ideas, which will be a post. I really want some more input, and while I’m almost constantly browsing My Pinterest for embroidery things, I want more information from everyone. You never know when a tip can help.

I would really like to give a HUGE shout out to Needle n’ Thread because they are obviously an amazing place to get information on embroidery and videos on stitches. It’s a great place.

Leave a Reply

